The Nao of Brown by Glyn Dillon Review

Image

Hmm… what to say about this book other than it  was the bomb. Seriously. Loved it.

First let me start off with a little synopsis. The Nao of Brown by Glyn Dillon is about a girl named Nao (go figure) and her inner struggle with her Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD). Now, what I loved most about this is that as a person who suffers from OCD, I liked the fact that the readers were not met with the same stereotypical image of a person with OCD. Nao does not wash her hands a million times a day. She doesn’t check her locks over and over again even after she just did. The Nao of Brown decides to show us a terrifying side of OCD – the thoughts.  Nao often has thoughts in which she harms those around her in horrific ways. She thinks about killing her boyfriend and even children around her. Now, when most people have disturbing thoughts, they’re able to push it off fairly quickly. A person with OCD experiences immense guilt at having had those thoughts and are unable to let it go. Nao struggles throughout the book to accept that she is not evil for having these thoughts, and her relationship with those around her are affected because of this. I thought the whole story was really well done, but the ending was a bit rushed. I would have liked to see some more development on how it led to the ending, but overall it was great.

Moving on to the art. What can I say other that it was absolutely, fantastically, brilliant. It is drawn in a very simplistic watercolour style, and each and every panel is so beautifully done. I love the clear distinction between her thoughts and what is actually going on. The expressions on the characters are wonderful. The background is absolutely gorgeous. I could go on and on,  so let me just end it by saying I really don’t have anything bad to say about the art. It was just lovely all the way through. This is probably because watercolour is one of my favorite mediums but oh well.

Would I recommend this book? Absolutely. Go read it. Seriously. Won’t regret it. I was drawn to this book from the cover, and I love the red outlining of the pages. The physical book itself is great and a wonderful addition to any library! I’m so grateful to my local librarian for pointing this one out to me. Take a chance, read it, and tell me what you think.

Live long and prosper!

Leave a Reply

