The Conjuring Review

Image

Alright, guys. A lot of movies have come out in the recent years about possessions and demons and whatnot, but I have to say that this one was actually pretty good. Here’s why:

True story. Yes, I know that the movie changed some things around and might have exaggerated some, but come on. You can’t tell me that you weren’t just the tiniest bit freaked out when you found out this movie was based on real events. It’s based on the actual hauntings experienced by the Perron family, and the consequent investigations made by the famous paranormal investigators, Ed and Lorraine Warren played by Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga respectively. According to the movie, the house belonged to an accused witch, Bathsheba, who sacrificed her child to the devil, cursing anyone who tried to take her land. However, the real truth is that no one really knows for sure whether this is true or not. If you don’t like inaccuracies, this may not be the movie for you, but if you don’t particularly care, then by all means, watch it.

The acting. I thought the whole cast did a pretty convincing job, and at times when there was a lot of suspense, I was right there with the characters, scared for my life. There were a lot of younger characters in this movie because of the many daughters in the Perron family, but I thought they did a fantastic job with this movie, so kudos to them. I thought Joey King, in particular, who you might recognize from Ramona and Beezus, did a brilliant job especially. Finally, I love Vera Farmiga, so that’s a plus for me. I can’t wait to see more from her.

The horror. I will say that there were some cheap jump scares here and there, but the whole movie is brilliantly done and not overly-cliched. Sure, it has its fair share of overused tropes, but that’s to be expected in a genre as well covered as demonic possession. The makeup was pretty freaky. The night I watched it, I could have sworn I heard clapping in the distance… or maybe it’s just my paranoia. In any case, the movie had me on my toes for a majority of the time, waiting for what I know is coming, but when it did come, I was still scared anyway. The Annabelle doll they used in the movie was pretty creepy. I’d love to buy one and scare my friends with it some time by putting it in their rooms.

Image

Geez, imagine waking up to that in your room. There wasn’t much gore. The movie instead relied on creepy atmosphere and horrifying scenes.

Was this movie groundbreaking? Probably not. Is it still worth watching? Absolutely. It’s a great movie to watch on a rainy and gloomy day when the atmosphere is just right. I highly recommend it.

As an afterword, I’d like to point out that I believe Lorraine Warren conducts tours at her house. Oh, I’d love to see that!

Leave a Reply

