Catching Fire (Film) Review

Image

It’s almost two in the morning, I’ve got a cup of coffee in my hand, and I’m ready to roll. Alright, I’ll start of this review by making a confession. I’ve never read any of the Hunger Games Series. That’s right. This book-obsessed geek has never read any of them. Not a single one, but you know what? I think that that makes me a little bit less biased towards the movie. I had no expectations going into the movie theater. Actually, that’s not true. My expectations were pretty low after the first movie. I wasn’t expecting this movie to be any different in terms of its effect on me, but I was proven wrong. I really liked this movie. Here’s why:

The whole movie was well done. The plot was great, and I have Suzanne Collins to thank for that aspect. For those of you who have never read the Hunger Games Series either, let me give you a quick  synopsis. The story is set after Katniss Everdeen, played by the lovely Jennifer Lawrence, and Peeta Mellark, played by Josh Hutcherson, return home, victorious from the Hunger Games. Katniss has become a beacon of hope to all the districts, and the Capitol is most certainly not happy. The next Hunger Games consists of victors fighting it out in the arena. I really have to say that the film did a brilliant job in bringing this story to life. Even though I’ve never read the books, I wasn’t lost and I was completely engaged throughout the movie. You need not have read the books to enjoy this jewel.

Image

The acting was pretty fantastic this time around. With the first movie, I didn’t connect with Katniss at all, but Jennifer Lawrence did a magnificent job in Catching Fire. I was absolutely heartbroken with her when she is separated from her sister, and I teared up at the scene where she is honoring Rue. Her performance was absolutely brilliant. Another actor that I would like to mention is the handsome Sam Claflin (who you may recognize from Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides) who played Finnick Odair in this movie. His best scene hands down is when he’s shouting after Mags. Completely heartbreaking!

The soundtrack was solid like in the first movie. It wasn’t groundbreaking, but it was beautiful and added the right atmosphere to the movie. And as to be expected from the first movie, the costume designs were stunning.The scenery was also amazing. The world Suzanne Collins made is portrayed magnificently in the movie.  It felt real and yet unreal at the same time. There are some parts where I can see it being in the real world while others felt like a dream. During this movie, I felt as if I were truly transported into the world of Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.

Overall, I really liked this movie. It just may be the motivator I need to go and read the whole series. In any case, I’m really looking forward to seeing the next installment!

Live long and prosper guys!

2 comments on “Catching Fire (Film) Review

  1. They did such a fantastic job with this film! It’s pretty close to the book which is quite rare these days. As a lover of the book trilogy, give them a try! They won’t win any Nobel prizes but they are great YA literature.

Leave a Reply

