Book Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Image

What have I just read? I was fooled once again. I was fooled by high ratings and a pretty cover. Shame on me. This book was so bland. It is yet another cheesy romance young adult novel hiding under the guise of “paranormal.” 

First of all, let me talk about the plot. This book has 452 pages. I wanted to give up by page 200. Things just kept dragging on and on, and the writing is so uninteresting that I was finding myself forcing myself to trudge on. The story starts out a mystery, then romance , and then bam! It’s paranormal. The reader is left saying “huh” with a question mark on their face. The only remotely interesting plot points are the at the start with the mystery and the end with the paranormal. The book would have been much better if they centered around those two genres more and offered up explanations along the way – not just come at you like a truck in the end. Everything else should have been cut out because it was so boring. The romance was just awful.

The characters were so typical. Although I didn’t find myself hating Mara, I didn’t find myself rooting for her either. I couldn’t care less what happened to her quite honestly. The love interest, Noah, is a pretentious douchebag who feels superior because he’s from Europe and is “more cultured.” And of course, like every other cliched young adult novel, the author uses a popular, slutty girl with apparently no morals or any good in her. This ploy to try and get us to sympathize with Mara was not effective, and I couldn’t help but roll my eyes at how obvious and one-dimensional the characters were. There was no depth. It was just bland personalities and overused stereotypes.

The romance was terribly uninteresting. You’ve got mister Noah Shaw who is oh so gorgeous and has bedded pretty much every girl at school and Mara Dyer who is your plain Jane with little experience with guys. Of course, Mara is the first girl Noah ever cares about, and to prove it, he drives her to school! Shocking! I know. Oh and it’s terribly romantic how Christian Grey  Noah orders for Mara and beats other guys up for her. Why? Why are these assholes so popular? Noah wasn’t as bad as some other male protagonists, but he was still quite annoying – his character being utterly unoriginal. Been there, done that.

My final verdict? This is a skippable title. There’s nothing new to this story. We’ve all seen it before. It’s the same old young adult novel equation with new variables.

One comment on “Book Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

  1. Pingback: My 2013 End of Year Book Survey | The Geeky Bookworm

Leave a Reply

