Book Review: Endless by Amanda Gray

Image

Darkness didn’t scare her. It was the things she could see that did. The things she saw and felt when her hands came into contact with certain people.

Jenny Kramer has a gift. Ever since she was a child, she has been seeing visions of what seems to be a past life. Everything in her visions feels too real to simply be a dream. Everything is relatively fine until Pandora’s Box is open at a party where they decide to bring out the Ouija board. When are kids going to realize not to play around with this stuff? Seriously, nothing ever good comes out of it especially when it’s done at a party, but I digress. New kid Ben comes, and it seems that they are connected somehow. Jenny begins to unravel the mystery that is her life and meets a man that has traveled through time to find her, Nikolai.

Alright let’s get on with this review. Overall, I liked this book. I wouldn’t say it is a must read, but it is awfully cute and easy to get through. I am a sucker for time travel stories and am very much interested in the Romanov family, so I jumped at the chance to read this book. It isn’t groundbreaking in either aspects, but it is a nice enough read that I can see myself recommending it.

Plot-wise, I thought the start was a bit slow. It definitely got better towards the end of the book where there was a lot more action. Something that bugged me about this book is the drastic change from one half of the book to the other. The first half is spent being paranormal with one guy as the pretty much the leading man while the other is more science fiction and includes a different main guy. I feel like it should have integrated the characters together as a whole as opposed to splitting up the book in order to focus on the different characters. I do, however, love the flashbacks/dreams Jenny has of a past life in Russia. Those were the chapters I looked forward to the most.

The characters were likeable enough. They’re nothing too special and not as developed as I would have liked, but they were by no means annoying or unlikeable. Jenny was a bit too plain for my liking. Sometimes, I just didn’t feel connected to her, so I would have liked for her to have been developed a bit more. I liked the guys more in this book because I could feel and sympathize with their emotions more than I did Jenny’s. Overall, Endless has a nice set of characters that I enjoyed reading about.

Nikolai bent to kiss her. “It doesn’t matter. Wherever they send you, whatever happens, I will find you. I will always find you.”

That Nikolai had cheated death to find her again.

Gosh, where can I get a Nikolai? Someone to defy time to be with me? I know most people would probably label Nikolai and Jenny’s relationship as bordering or being instalove, but I ended up liking it. I didn’t really think of it as instalove. To me, it felt more like destiny or fate – as if everything in the universe was pulling them towards each other. I mean, that’s the point of the book. They’re soul mates, so they gravitate towards each other. Therefore, I find nothing wrong with how it played out. It felt like instinct for them, and it made sense to me. I loved their past together. They were unbelievable cute. Another thing I liked about the romance aspect of the book is the love triangle. I am not a fan of love triangles, but done right, I tolerate them if not like them. I like the way it was done in Endless because I don’t believe a person can love two people at the same time, and it certainly isn’t the case here. Jenny admits being attracted somewhat to Ben, but that is forgotten when faced with a love that crosses the boundaries of time. This, to me, is what a love triangle is supposed to be.

All in all, if you’re looking for something cute and easy to get through, pick up Endless. It’s not amazing, but it is enjoyable. There are a lot of problems, but nonetheless, I quite liked this one.

Leave a Reply

