Book Review: Scintillate by Tracy Clark

Image

Scintillate is a book about a young girl named Cora who can see auras. She goes on a quest to find out the truth about her mother and the truth about what she is. She finds herself drawn to the new Irish exchange student. When he goes back to Ireland, she follows him because that’s where her mother was researching. She then finds herself in grave danger from those who want to use her power.

Being from Ireland, I was beyond ecstatic when I received a copy of this book. I mean, a book having to do with my childhood land, auras and whatnot? Count me in. Unfortunately, it did not live up to my expectations. The major problem I had with this book is that, for the most part, it was entirely and disappointingly boring. I had to force myself to finish it because it was just so clichéd and banal. It fell into so many annoying young adult tropes.

1.The Mary-Sue/Special Snowflake

“You’re different from them.”

“It’s not just the color of your eyes – though, damn, that emerald green against your black hair slays me. It’s what’s in them. I feel like I know everything… and nothing, when I look your eyes.”

Cora is just so special. She really is. The readers are told she is plain, but how can we believe that when two amazingly gorgeous guys fall instantly in love with her? She has a hot Irish exchange student from Ireland and a gorgeous Italian boy pining after her. To top it off, she has an extremely rare power and is being hunted because of it.

Cora also makes stupid decisions. After being told how dangerous her gift is and not to trust anyone with the secret, she immediately tells her two friends. She researches in a PUBLIC library. She goes against all of her instincts to be with a guy she barely knows. Even her cousin is okay with letting him drive her home after having fainted. This is how horror movies happen, my friends.

2. The Love Triangle

It has the love triangle. It makes no sense to me because they instantly feel protective of her. They instantly need her. I’m having a hard time wrapping my head around how Cora is so special. I detest love triangles, but I like them when they are done well. This is not the case which brings me to my next point.

3. Instalove

I think this category is pretty self-explanatory. This may work for tweens, but authors should know better than this. Seriously. I want development. I want the feelings to sneak up on me. I don’t want love at first sight.

4. The Cheesy Dialogue

I can’t count the number of times I rolled my eyes during this book.

Little mini-hearts floated into my bloodstream. “Love?”

We did that thing again, where we looked in each other’s eyes a fraction longer than was considered comfortable in polite society.

“Since I met you, nothing else exists. No one has ever touched me the way you do. You’re like a fookin’ hypnotist.”

 “It’s the sun on my back after days in the rain.”

“…to the wider world you are enchanting.”

5. The Twilight Plot

There’s the immediate attraction. There’s the “I’m not good for you, so I’m going to go leave you now.” There’s the love triangle. There’s the perfect character who everyone loves. She doesn’t know how special she is though.

6. OMG- I’m what?

Yup. It’s the “I don’t know what I am. I’m going to go on a quest to find out.” I mean, there’s nothing wrong with this. It can be a great tool for a fantastic plot. I just hated the way it was done here.

Overall, this was so disappointing. I gave it two stars because the latter part of the book, towards the end, is a lot more interesting than the beginning. For this reason, I can see myself picking up the next book and giving it a chance, but I don’t see myself recommending it.

Leave a Reply

